Father’s Day: For the Abused and Fatherless ( Ten things to do for yourself)

Jesus1. If you’ve never done so before, grieve your loss. You were a helpless child, and he wasn’t there for you. You have the right to be sad, mad or bitter.

2. Make a list of all the wonderful things about YOU- your accomplishments, who you are, what you do, your talents. Now revel in the fact that you turned out OK. You are a survivor! Be proud.

3. Do something for yourself today that you wish your father had done with you. Go to a baseball game, hike or go camping, learn to fix a flat tire. Empower yourself.

4. Spend a few minutes thinking about the good memories that you did have growing up, (few as they may be). Don’t let yourself be sucked into the negative thoughts that may threaten to take those good memories away from you.

5. Do a computer search on biblical topics such as: child of God, inheritance, treasure, love and who our father is. Realize that God is trying to show you that you are a child of God and that He loves you very much.

6. Buy, or make the greatest Father’s Day card, saying just the things you’d like to say to the “perfect father” and then sign it over to God. Write Him a love letter thanking Him for being your True Father.

7. Make a list of every male in your past that has influenced you, or molded you into the person you are today. Write them a quick note, or call them, thanking them.

8. Fathers everywhere need your prayers today. Pray for them. Pray for your own. He needs it more than you know.

9. Spend time with a young boy- tumble, play, fart and get down in the dirt. Pat them on the back and tell them how proud you are of them. They are our DADS of the future.

10. If you can, forgive your father, not for his sake, but for yours. This is the greatest present you can give yourself.

8 thoughts on “Father’s Day: For the Abused and Fatherless ( Ten things to do for yourself)

  1. Thank you so much for this post. Having been abused and also now lost my father, I often feel sad, hurt and upset on Father’s Day. There are some great alternatives here. I particularly like the Father’s Day card for God idea which I am actually going to do. I can’t thank you enough for this xxx 🙂

    • So glad. It is a hard time for me as well. I need to just focus on the good that God has given me. I wrote this to help others, hoping that they would be inspired to do the same. I so much love to read your stuff. Just wanted to let you know. I smile when I see your name. Keep up! Hugs Meghan

  2. Thank you. Father’s Day has always been so full of mixed emotions for me…the ones that I think I “should” feel and the ones that I really feel. I like number 8 🙂

Leave a Reply

