The Listener

Thank you to all those who LISTEN to me. I wrote this poem at a time where I felt no one cared to listen. I am blessed today with many who open their ears and hearts to my struggles. If you need a listening ear...I am here. You are important.

Thank you to all those who LISTEN to me. I wrote this poem at a time where I felt no one cared to listen. I am blessed today with many who open their ears and hearts to my struggles. If you need a listening ear…I am here. You are important.

The man at the bench was old and gray.
His eyes met me as I passed by that day.
He sat alone, yet I knew was content.
I met him that day by a smile he lent.
I say that he lent it because it’s quite clear,
That it returned to him after pulling me near.
He made me feel safe. I liked him so much.
I told him problems in my life and such.
He listened with both ears, without a word.
His eyes understood, but he hadn’t heard.
He patted my head and brought out a slate.
The words, “I’m deaf,” summed up his fate.
I touched his hand, as I took his chalk.
How could I write words I couldn’t talk?
I thought for sometime, but how could I say,
That he’d been the best listener I’d had all day.

5 thoughts on “The Listener

    • I would be honored for you to share the poem with others. I hope it makes someone smile as you have made me smile today. My poem shows that it doesn’t always need people to listen with their ears, but with their hearts to make a difference. God bless You Meghan

Leave a Reply

