Finding Kisses From Heaven- Day 1

kisses

(I know that I am out of order, but I had blessings on day one and two that I wanted to share. Instead, I wrote articles about blessings. Now I want to share my personal blessings. So bear with me.)

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” Psalms 34:18

This Bible verse speaks to me today. I feel pretty crushed in spirit. I have come face to face with my broken heart this holiday season and it seems it is winning. I feel pulled down and exhausted.

I woke up this morning determined to find my blessing today. It is mine. God intends it for me, not for anyone else, but for me. I knew that if I laid in bed all morning I would miss it. So as tired as I was I got up. I made the expected breakfast, although it was more like brunch at 11:30. We are all tired from staying up last night to bring in the new year. Once the dishes were washed and I was dressed I paused, what to do now? There were plenty of shoulds and a few I have tos, but I wanted today to be different.

I decided to bake cookies with my sons and take them to our neighbors. Nothing like being a blessing, to gain a blessing for one’s self. We went to 5 houses and had lovely conversations with our neighbors. Blessing number one- we have great neighbors.

On one of the doorsteps there was a patch of ice. This was no ordinary patch of ice, it was shaped in the form of a heart. I lifted my face to the sky and said, “Thank you Lord. I love you too.”

You see, for years now I have been collecting and noticing hearts in nature. Each one a message from God to me, letting me know that He loves me. I have seen shells on the beach left in the shape of a heart. That designer will never know how much that meant to me. I have collected rocks, a used tissue that went through the wash and dryer and came out as a hardened heart, a piece of corn flake that looked like a heart, a leaf, a three leaf clover each piece shaped like a heart. One of my friends has a tree with a knot shaped like a heart. My shower has a paint chip in the same shape. They are everywhere once you start looking. Blessing number two- God shows me that He loves me.

I challenge you this new year to look for His hearts, for they are Kisses From Heaven.

“I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove your heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36:26

I can’t wait to receive that heart someday!

One thought on “Finding Kisses From Heaven- Day 1

Leave a Reply

