Finding Kisses From Heaven- Day 2

kisses

(Day two is still out of order. Oh well.)

“For your Maker is your husband – The Lord Almighty is His name – The Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer; He is called the God of all the earth.” Isaiah 54:5

I love knowing that God is my true husband. I love my earthly husband, don’t get me wrong, but he has faults. We all do. He lets me down and hurts my feelings. He means well, most of the time, but because of my misguided expectations he will never truly live up to being the One True Love Of My Life. I am so happy that God does! He is my everything. He is the one who loves me unconditionally. Really unconditionally.

I can be mean to Him and He still loves me. I can let Him down and He still loves me. I can get busy, as I often do, and forget to spend time with Him, but He is always patiently there waiting for me to come back to Him.

If you haven’t read the book Redeeming Love, by Francine Rivers yet, I highly suggest you do. Probably my number one on my list of favorites. It tells the story of Hosea in the Bible and how he goes to find and bring back his wife that has left him. He loves her and will do anything for her, despite what she has done. This story is God’s love story toward us. Although this particular story is not the Biblical version, it takes place in California during the gold rush, it shows us how ultimately God loves us. We are his brides. He cherishes us. I love that word, cherish! So much more than love. It means to look onto the other with awe and being overwhelmed with love. Now that is a lot of love. I want to be loved that way.

When I was going through the toughest years with my husband I held onto the fact that God was the true love of my life and that He was the only one that I needed to “make happy”. I leaned on Him for support. I grabbed onto His love when I was lonely or being ignored.

Today I was rummaging around for something that my earthly husband needed yesterday. Seems it was my fault that I lost  it. Well I went to places I don’t normally go and I found a little box. Inside was a wedding band that belonged to my Grandmother. It was engraved with my Grandma and Grandpa’s name and date of marriage. 1943.  I don’t know how happy they were. I only saw them kiss once, but they stayed married until death separated them.

I placed the ring on my finger to remind me that God is my husband that will stay with me till death – and then beyond too. It is a special reminder that He has always been there, past, present and future.

Thank you Lord for being my true love! Thank you for giving me this ring and for giving me Your Kisses From Heaven.

Leave a Reply

