Finding Kisses from Heaven- Day 24

kisses

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

God knew that I needed to rest today, so He sent me a snow storm. He knew that I had plans to go out and DO today. Now I am “stuck” at home relaxing, awaiting a foot of snow to blanket us.

I am exhausted after having no heat and water for two days. Yesterday we didn’t have hot water. The man came back and fixed it. Hallelujah! Seems he put the pump on backwards. Now we have HOT water and more water pressure than we’ve ever had. I had the most glorious shower last night. My bathroom was like a sauna when I was finished. Yeah for God. He is great!

He longs us to pause and rest, to enjoy the blessings that we have in front of us; most of which we take for granted. My heat and water were just a given, till they were taken away. Now I relish them both. I love being warm!!!

Today I encourage you to look around and take stock of everything that you have, that you can be grateful for. A business owner needs to take inventory of his supplies, so that he can continually offer his services to others. If not, he runs out and will have to close his doors. Take inventory today. Know what God has given you.

Be still! This doesn’t mean to sit frozen, nor does it mean to meditate. The word translated “be still” comes from the Hebrew term raphah. This word in the Old Testament refers to that which is slack, or to let drop, or in some instances, to be disheartened or weak. It means to stop doing all the work and trying to survive and thrive by the sweat of your own brow. You can’t do it all on your own, and God commands us to lean on Him. (Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Proverbs 3:5)

Being still forces us to think about two things: one, that we are finite beings, and two, that God is infinite. Knowing this, we just need to go limp, relax, and “chill out.”

So when your world crumbles around you, remember that the Bible tells you to not flinch in your faith. Stand still—not because you have confidence in your own abilities, but because you know that God can and will handle it all for you.

It is “God’s past” that provides calm for “our future.” Know that He went through it all for us, and that He still has all the plans in the palms of His hands.

If you are the last man or woman standing, be still. “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth do change” (Psalm 46:1-2a). Hallelujah!

4 thoughts on “Finding Kisses from Heaven- Day 24

  1. Meghan, I can’t tell you how much I needed to read these words today and to watch this video. I have a super-stressful day and haven’t stopped for a minute as my Mum got taken into hospital and I had to co-ordinate everything between myself and three sisters all living more than 200 miles apart. I haven’t stopped and am exhausted but my God guided me to stop for a few moments and out of all my blogs from friends, He led me to choose yours which has made me stop and think…“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10. Thanks, Meghan. Hugs, Ellie xxx 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on elliesofia and commented:
    A dear friend wrote this blog which the Lord guided me to read at the exact moment when I really needed to stop and be still. As the bible says…“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10. Thanks, Meghan xxx

Leave a Reply

