Finding Kisses From Heaven- You Are Beautiful Just The Way You Are

I watched the Miss Universe Pageant last night, as I have done since I was a little girl. I have always loved to see the extremely beautiful women and wish that I was one of them up there on that stage. Last night though, I thought something different. As I was checking off the names of the ones that I thought would be the winner it came to me. Only one person will win. This means that 87 of them will go home feeling like failures. Were they not good enough?

I was ranked the 10th prettiest girl in my high school. This knowledge should have made me feel special, but it didn’t. I always wondered if I wore makeup, or more expensive clothing would I have been deemed prettier? If I hung out with the “in” crowd, or had gone to parties would more people have voted for me? I hated wondering and not feeling good enough.

As I have gotten older I’ve realized that beauty comes from within. It is not the stuff that you put on that matters. God looks at the heart, not at your clothes labels. I feel beautiful now when I spread smiles and hug the down trodden. I wish I would have known that back then.

Unfortunately the “I’m not good enough” feelings still come back though, just in different ways. I feel that I should be doing more, that I am not successful enough. I look at my accomplishments and frown. The devil gets us where it hurts the most. I know that I just have to look to God. He is the reason that I am beautiful and talented, kind and funny. He gives me my worth. It is not what I do, or the who that I am. It is the WHOSE I am that matters.

I loved this video. This man is inspiring. To have so little, and yet be so uplifting. If he can do it, I can too. I will be grateful for what God has given me today. I will lift up my hands and say, “Thank you God for making me beautiful, just the way I am.”

Meghan

Leave a Reply

