Dysfunction in the Hundred Acre Wood

brave

Now that I am done with my taxes (long sigh of relief) I am going to spend some quality time with my kids. It is still early in the morning and because everyone is on winter break, I am letting my kids watch a little TV while eating their breakfast. I can hear their munch, munch on cereal while I am typing this post.

From where I sit, I can hear Winnie the Pooh laughing and Tigger bouncing across the screen. Oh, it brings back wonderful childhood memories when I used to watch those loveable creatures. Back then, I counted them as my friends. Their magical forest, The Hundred Acre Wood, followed me whenever I went into my own woods that surrounded my home. I wanted to squeeze Pooh, play with Tigger, tell Rabbit to “chill out”, and just love Eeyore’s sadness away.

They seemed a happy lot, on the most part, and I wanted to be part of their fun. All grown up now, I’ve learned that things are not always what they seem. Happy little families, like mine, fall apart. I don’t believe that anyone “is normal” and “has it all together”. There is conflict, mental dysfunctions and secrets in the most “perfect” of families. As I look back, even the Hundred Acre Wood had its problems.

The Canadian Medical Association did a study on Winnie the Pooh and his pals and came up with some interesting findings. They found that the world of Pooh hid undiagnosed neurodevelopmental and psychosocial problems. On the surface it may seem innocent and even fun, but Christopher Robin and his friends are seriously troubled.Many of the characters’ problems are categorized in the DSM IV, showing a darker side to our favorite childhood friends.

Pooh, for example is diagnosed with:

winnie1

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Significant impulsivity, aggravated by an obsessive fixation on honey

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)

A very little brain (due possibly to being dragged downstairs as a young one, bumping his head) Can this be abuse?

piglet

Then there is Piglet who has:

Generalized Anxiety Disorder

Low self-esteem

eeyore

Eeyore obviously has:

Chronic Dysthymia Depression

owl

Owl is:

Dyslexic

roo

Roo suffers from:

Impulsivity

Hyperactivity

Growing up in a single parent home

tigger

Tigger acts out with:

Risk taking behaviors

Impulsively sampling unknown substances

Being socially intrusive

Hyperactivity

Being a bad role model

kanga

Kanga is:

Over protective

Single mother

Possessive

christopher robin

Christopher Robin has an:

Absence of parental role

Talks to animals

Difficulty with academics

rabbit

Rabbit is of course:

Bossy

Controlling

Looking at all those shortcomings I feel that my family isn’t quite so bad. We are all dysfunctional beings. I am so lucky to have healthy, happy children. Researching these findings, I have to chuckle to myself. I wonder what disorders others would diagnose our happy family with?

Till I get slapped with that label, I will be naïvely content. I still love my Pooh friends. They teach kindness, the importance of friendship and to never give up when facing hardships. I am actually glad that there is dysfunction in the Hundred Acre Wood, because then the characters become more real to me. They face problems too. They are loveable despite living with emotional issues. They, mostly, see life with a positive outlook. I could learn a bit of something from them.

I am going to go hug my kids. Maybe we’ll take a walk and play Pooh Sticks later.

3 thoughts on “Dysfunction in the Hundred Acre Wood

  1. I just loooove this, Meghan! I’m sorry I’m late replying as usual but this is an absolutely brilliant and cleverly thought out post. Fantastic title too! I love Winnie the Pooh and all his friends too, always have, alway will….even more now! Thanks for making me think and making me smile. I will reblog this on my page if that’s ok. Hugs, Ellie xxx ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

