Walking on a Wire

tightrope

Much of my life I feel is a dangerous balancing act. If I make one wrong move, I’ll die. To make matters worse, I feel that my audience all around me doesn’t understand the pressures that I am under. They are constantly trying to distract my every step. They keep talking, and asking me questions, and asking for me to help them do this or that. Don’t they know that I am just trying to survive?

When I was a child my parents took me to go see the Ringling Brothers Barnum & Bailey Circus. We sat in the second mezzanine balcony seats overlooking a wide area. We thought this was going to be the perfect place to view the fun. Unfortunately, it was the perfect place, only not to see anything good.

Everything went well until the twin tightrope walkers started doing their act. It was nerve wracking watching them walk so far above the floor. One end of their rope attached right on the other side of the railing directly in front of my seat. When one of the men walked right up in front of me, I could almost reach out and touch him. This thought stuck in my head and is one of the reasons this experience touched my life as it did. He turned around and started to walk away. And then it happened, he fell. There had been a net in the middle of the rope area, where they did most of their tricks, but there was no net under the edges.

I watched as the man fell two stories down and crashed onto the floor. I didn’t know what happened to the man, until the next morning’s newspaper came and told me that the man had died.

I too wonder if there is a net below me. If I stay in the middle, I should be ok. From time to time though, life takes me to the edges. I balance as best as I can. I don’t know how long I can keep up my strength to not fall. By seeing a man die as a child, I know how fragile life is. It is a balancing act!

Tomorrow I will tell you about another man I saw die, this one a motorcycle crash.

7 thoughts on “Walking on a Wire

Leave a Reply

