Breaking Up Advice

break

My teenage son and I had a nice talk the other day about girls and dating. Luckily he hasn’t entered into that scene too much, but he is very much interested. I was so happy that he was comfortable coming to me asking me all his questions. It was a nice bonding moment for us.

The one question he asked me that completely had me at a loss of words was this one, “For future reference, so I know it when I need it, how do you break up with a girl in a nice way that doesn’t hurt them?”

Wow, I don’t know how to answer that one. Each of my breakups in the past were devastating. One guy told me he was trying to make me into someone else and it wasn’t working, one guy told me that I made him feel caged in, and many guys just said oh you are so sweet you’ll find someone who’ll like you. That wasn’t comforting.

So I come to you my friends, what do I say to him?

3 thoughts on “Breaking Up Advice

  1. Wow… I guess the motive of the break up will determine what it has to be said… My break up were not so nice either… And even when one doesn’t want to hurt the other, I think that’s inevitable 🙂
    And the “it’s not you, it’s me”, hurts as much as the: one day you’ll get someone who really likes you 🙂

  2. I am getting the feeling he is already on the verge of a break-up, but you might know better.

    If he is not already in a relationship, my advice to him would be to go with only that girl whom he loves beyond anything, so the question of leaving and hurting won’t even arise.

Leave a Reply

