Permission to write?

questions

I have a question,  if anyone knows a literary lawyer- all the better.

A couple of years ago I wrote a book.  An acquaintance of mine told me an awesome miracle story about her abusive ex. I asked her if I could use it and she said yes.  I wove that short clip into my story,  changing names and a few other details. It really is a great story.

I saw her recently and we talked about my book.  I reminded her that her story contributed to it being great.  She acted shocked. She asked me to take it out.  What happens if he reads it?  He will know she told it.

Now my question, and I am afraid I already know the answer. .. Do I have to take it out?  I do not see this girl ever. The story is about a construction project and a few bricks ( sounds boring but it is not. ) I am sure my book will never be a best seller,  just might eventually put it on Amazon.  I use a pen name and the man does not know me.

Anyone have any thoughts on the subject?

Thanks,  Meghan

 

 

Leave a Reply

